Forum for indigenous terrestrial plants/trees

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by RoGe, Dec 28, 2016.

1. RoGe

RoGe Green fingers

• APSA Member
    51%
    Howzit guys, I've just bought a house with a 2000m2 garden, neighbouring a nature reserve. The garden needs work, but I'm on a budget as well (no landscaper). I look around at all the trees with their different leaf shapes and seeds, and try googling, and get absolutely nowhere with identifying what they are! I also have absolutely no clue what would be good to start planting, keeping it fully indigenous of course.

I feel exactly like I did when I was a planted tank noob! So I'm looking for an APSA equivalent but for trees and stuff (not flower beds).. Anyone here able to recommend a local forum? I know there's quite a few clever botanist type people on here so I'm looking at you for suggestions

2. RoGe

RoGe Green fingers

• APSA Member
    51%
    So, epic fail - assuming that APSA equivalent forums actually exist on any topic other than cars and guns (??). The best I could find was this http://www.gardenerforum.co.za but seems to have had a serious drop-off in traffic a year ago (to basically zero).

Soooo.. Now with my expectations significantly lowered, can anyone recommend any good web resources for identifying trees, and deciding which indigenous trees to plant? I have a feeling that I'm still gonna be going round in circles on google for a while, thinking of different synonyms for shapes of leaves.....

3. epiphysis

epiphysis Green fingers

• APSA Member
    51%
    Drop a few pics on here. I'm sure some guys can id a few trees. If needs be I can go dust of my old taxonomy textbooks.

Clare likes this.
  4. RoGe

RoGe Green fingers

• APSA Member
    51%
    Here's some invasive weed type things
    DSC_0637.JPG DSC_0639.JPG
    Sorry, photos on full sunlight aren't the greatest..

Sent from my E2303 using Tapatalk

5. RoGe

RoGe Green fingers

• APSA Member
    51%
    Or on their side..

6. RoGe