WTF is wrong with this pic?

Discussion in 'Photo critique' started by Pedro, Feb 26, 2007.

1. Pedro

Pedro Algae harvester

• APSA Member
    40%
    WTF is wrong with this pic?

Sheesh! Not even 1 friggin' vote... Crit away peeps - throw me your nastiest comments. I'm a big boy and I can take it...

[​IMG]

2. Andre

Andre Green fingers

• APSA Member
    37%
    Hi Pedro

Its not a bad photo, I just felt there were better ones.

I am no photo expert, but the blurry gravel in the front makes my eyes hurt, and the photo is a bit dark and doesnt have enough contrast?

Still a nice photo though

3. Discus

Discus Algae harvester

• APSA Member
    40%
    A super-speedy crit:

The colour balance is off (I imagine you have an actinic or very blue bulb in the tank?). Try different lighting for photography (total flash is usually your best bet, but generally involves more complex gear).

The subject is not filling the frame enough for my tastes.

Somehow, the fish doesn't look quite in focus - the rock behind looks to be slightly sharper.

Dead center / bullseye subject placement tends to make very static photos.

Hope this helps. :)

4. Pedro

Pedro Algae harvester

• APSA Member
    40%
    Thanks Andre & James.

I never noticed the blurry gravel at the bottom of the pic until you mentioned it now. As for lighting and contrast, yes, a bit more of both would be good.

The good thing about this crit section will that people will highlight what we don't see in the pics we have taken. I really didn't pay much attention to the gravel until you mentioned it as I was focusing primarily on the subject when I should've been focusing on the picture as a whole.

James you're spot on in regards to the blue bulb - have 3 x white and 1 x blue -

This pic was taken with a Sony Cybershot S600 (6.1Mp) without the flash enabled - because of reflection off of the glass.

This cam is not very good for close ups and especially if trying to take pics of moving objects...