water changer

Discussion in 'D.I.Y.' started by wearsbunnyslippers, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. wearsbunnyslippers
    Offline

    wearsbunnyslippers Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6,333
    Likes Received:
    1,122
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Johannesburg South
    i copied tom barr's design, but instead of using the white pvc piping i used black irrigation pipe and elbows to give it a nicer look...

    [​IMG]

    there's a hose pipe fitting, a short piece of irrigation hose, two 90 degree elbows with a small piece between, then a longer piece, a t fitting and two intake fittings on each end.

    everything has been siliconed to seal it.

    the longer side is as deep as 60% in my tank, so the idea is, you hang it on, connect the hose, turn on the tap, wait for it to just start putting water in your tank, turn off the tap and disconnect the hose there. you will need to use a tap that is lower than your tank, this creates the syphon. when it reaches 60% the syphon breaks automatically due to the intake breaking the water. you then add prime or dechlor and reconnect the tap and fill it up. this is the only part you have to watch, to make sure it doesnt overfill. the water comes out the strainers, so it doesnt rush out and disturb the substrate. no more bucket brigade :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2014
    Clare likes this.
  2. shihr
    Offline

    shihr Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Edenvale
    awesome awesom idea!!wish my tap was closer and lower!
     
  3. freerider
    Offline

    freerider Noob

    • APSA Member
    55%
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    WOW, so you guys just add de-chlor straight to the tank and fill with good ol tap water? Thats brave.

    And here I was using storage drums to mature and aerate my water for water changes, how silly of me.
     
  4. shihr
    Offline

    shihr Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Edenvale
    WBS.. i was always wondering abt that.. u add declor b4 ur water change? or during? seems dangerous to me.. i usually put the right dose per bucket.. i dont bother maturing etc though..
     
  5. wearsbunnyslippers
    Offline

    wearsbunnyslippers Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6,333
    Likes Received:
    1,122
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Johannesburg South
    yeah i drain the water, add the dechlor and then fill it up. i only started doing this recently, maybe 6 months ago or so, so do this at your own risk.

    disclaimer:

    your mileage may vary...
     
  6. Toshi(Walter)
    Offline

    Toshi(Walter) Green fingers

    • APSA Member
    31%
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Roodepoort, Gauteng
    LOL!

    @tyrone: i've been doing it like that for 3 years and has had no problem.
     
  7. Algae wizard
    Offline

    Algae wizard Valued Contributor

    • APSA Member
    10%
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    155
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    JHB
    Nice one WBS

    I normally add all the dechlorinator to the tank then topup.
    I have had not issues for years.
     
  8. shihr
    Offline

    shihr Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Edenvale
    thanks for reassuring! will try it out sometime!
     
  9. Risen
    Offline

    Risen Algae harvester

    • APSA Member
    53%
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Southern Suburbs - CT
    Very clever. I think I should give it a try
     
  10. wearsbunnyslippers
    Offline

    wearsbunnyslippers Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6,333
    Likes Received:
    1,122
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Johannesburg South
    as mentioned, it's Tom Barr's design, i can't take any credit...
     
  11. vinex
    Offline

    vinex Noob

    • APSA Member
    55%
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just put the hosepipe in the tank and fill up an that is it ... been doing it for 5 years. I cannot notice any see any ill effects... dont follow my advice but I'm sure there is other there doing the same...
     
  12. shihr
    Offline

    shihr Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Edenvale
    i used to do that too.. but just that one time 70% of my fish died.. major water changes i'll never add tap water strait ever again.. topups on the other hand are strait from the tap..
     
  13. Toshi(Walter)
    Offline

    Toshi(Walter) Green fingers

    • APSA Member
    31%
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Roodepoort, Gauteng
    @shihr. when your fish died, how big was the WC? if you do very big WC you get pH swings, that with CO2 can be very bad.
     
  14. shihr
    Offline

    shihr Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Edenvale
    this was b4 i had CO2.. i did a 60%change like i always do.. but i know what the problem was though.. i hadnt changed water for over 2 months.. and with such a sudden change, im sure the TDS change killed my fish :( so now i learnt.. if i havnt done a wc for long, i can only do max 30% changes
     
    supertramp likes this.
  15. Toshi(Walter)
    Offline

    Toshi(Walter) Green fingers

    • APSA Member
    31%
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Roodepoort, Gauteng
    ah yes, but hey thats the way you learn!
     
  16. shihr
    Offline

    shihr Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Edenvale
    dont worry, i did the same flipping mistake when i got c02.. did a 50 - 60% weekly change and guess what? floaters:(
     
    supertramp likes this.
  17. Toshi(Walter)
    Offline

    Toshi(Walter) Green fingers

    • APSA Member
    31%
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Roodepoort, Gauteng
    i did that and increased my CO2 :-\
     
  18. worsie007
    Offline

    worsie007 Algae harvester

    • APSA Member
    40%
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Location:
    centurion
    this is such a cool thing! just goes to show that being lazy is a good thing coz you always come up with the easyiest of idea's!!!
     
  19. Jenn
    Offline

    Jenn Algae harvester

    • APSA Member
    40%
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Location:
    Kensington, JHB
    Why? I thought you're supposed to do 50% weekly change on planted tanks?
     
  20. wearsbunnyslippers
    Offline

    wearsbunnyslippers Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6,333
    Likes Received:
    1,122
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Johannesburg South
    you are, but you need to make sure the water coming out your tap is similar to that of your tank.

    if you have aquasoil, you will have softer water in your tank, so adding hard water from your tap will shock your fish, so you need to mix some RO first. also the pH will be different and the TDS will be different so more shock, you need to think about these things..
     

Share This Page