Signal interference when connecting a T5 Dual ballast

Discussion in 'Planted Tank Equipment' started by Nathanael, Oct 4, 2014.

  1. Nathanael
    Offline

    Nathanael Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Somerset West
    Hey guys, have any of you experienced a signal interference when connecting a T5 Dual ballast. Im experiencing this, it affect my electricity box. I cant load more electricity when i have my lights on? Should i get a different ballast?:confused:
     
  2. Deadpool
    Offline

    Deadpool Algae destroyer Staff Member

    • APSA Member
    • Sponsor
    73%
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3,983
    Likes Received:
    2,736
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    your momma's house (in Centurion)
    Is the wiring correct...remember 1 of the cables should be connected between the tubes and not from the ballast itself.
     
  3. GDT78
    Offline

    GDT78 Plant menace

    • APSA Member
    77%
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    East rand
    Have you double checked the wiring diagram on the ballast ?
     
  4. Nathanael
    Offline

    Nathanael Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Somerset West
    Hey guys, i have connected as follows, 1 power supply, 1black+1White to one bulb, and the other black and white to the second bulb.
     
  5. Deadpool
    Offline

    Deadpool Algae destroyer Staff Member

    • APSA Member
    • Sponsor
    73%
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3,983
    Likes Received:
    2,736
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    your momma's house (in Centurion)
    A dual ballast should have 8 slots for wires to the 2 tubes. Each tube will have 2 wires for each end...but you should only use 7 from the ballast...one wire connects between tube 1 and tube 2...have a look at the diagram (usually on the top of the ballast)
     
  6. Nathanael
    Offline

    Nathanael Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Somerset West
    Im gonna check in the morning, my connection is as per the ballast, but you confuse me when saying one should be to the ballast. Let me try explaining. 1 black and white cord on each end. I connected black and white from one end to a bulb and similarly the other.
     
  7. Nathanael
    Offline

    Nathanael Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Somerset West
    I managed to swap the wires, it runs from black wire in one ballast plug, white on the other side running back into the ballast. Then similar on the second set of wires. This interference is on my electricity box with the number 30 displayed. Municipality said its just a signal interference. Could it be the ballast?

    Currently on the one tank i have 4 ballast - 1 x LED, 2 x T8, 1 x dual T5. Could the amount of ballast create the inteference?
     
  8. AdrianT
    Offline

    AdrianT Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    73%
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    1,483
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Make 100% sure you've followed the diagram on the ballast. Black, white, red, blue, pink, it makes no difference - just check the diagram and use logic. If it's correct it would not affect your metre box. It could not produce interference in my opinion, so even if wrong either your lights would not have worked or the bulbs would have blown.

    Have you made any other changes recently, anywhere else in the house?
     
  9. Nathanael
    Offline

    Nathanael Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Somerset West
    No changes anywhere thus leading me to think about the ballast. Could it be that the ballast is old, bought it second hand. And i also would suspect if it was connected incorrectly it would not work or have blown the bulbs.
     
  10. Hanekka
    Offline

    Hanekka Moderator Staff Member

    • Global moderator
    23%
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    679
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Maybe see if you can "rent" a ballast from an LFS? If you still have problems, then it's not the old ballast. Or find an electrical buddy who can test the old ballast.
     
  11. Nathanael
    Offline

    Nathanael Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Somerset West
    Thanks alot for the help guys, im unplugging and taking the ballast to an electrician. What is the price range for a new t5 ho ballast more or less?
     
  12. AdrianT
    Offline

    AdrianT Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    73%
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    1,483
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Depends on the size. Check out RS Components.
     
  13. Nathanael
    Offline

    Nathanael Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Somerset West
    Thanks Adrian, before taking the ballast in i decided to swap the bulb wires and its been a while now with no interference. Hope it lasts.
     
  14. AdrianT
    Offline

    AdrianT Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    73%
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    1,483
    Trophy Points:
    173
    You are using solid core cable, aren't you? That gives best results. I'm not saying it will help your interference, but solid core (ie. not those twisted copper strands you usually see in cables) should be used on all fluorescent lighting ballasts.
     
  15. Nathanael
    Offline

    Nathanael Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Somerset West
    The power supply is solid core cable, but the bulb wires are flexi cable, similar to the ones already coming from the ballast.
     
  16. Singu
    Offline

    Singu Algae harvester

    • APSA Member
    53%
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    what brand is the ballast ? I had endless issues with some vossloh schwabe ballasts (like 2 from 10), switched to osram and everything was fine.
     
  17. AdrianT
    Offline

    AdrianT Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    73%
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    1,483
    Trophy Points:
    173
    You should have solid cable from the ballast to the tubes... And "normal" cable is fine to power the ballast. But I think that's splitting hairs, I could be wrong.

    Another even more important consideration is the distance from your ballast to the tubes. It's not like 3 or 4 metres is it?
     
  18. Nathanael
    Offline

    Nathanael Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Somerset West
    I think i may swap my ballast, not sure what brand but ill check later. I need a 30cm bulb to fit in the canopy and those are 8watts, where can i look for a dual ballast to run these. Went to AC/DC and they only had 39w ballasts.
     
  19. Nathanael
    Offline

    Nathanael Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Somerset West
    Hi Adrian, i managed to change the wiring too but no luck. It certainly looks like a faulty ballast. Where to buy a new one?? Im done struggling with this second hand thing.
     
  20. AdrianT
    Offline

    AdrianT Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    73%
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    1,483
    Trophy Points:
    173

Share This Page