My tank, stand and cabinet design

Discussion in 'D.I.Y.' started by AdrianT, Feb 3, 2014.

1. AdrianT

AdrianT Aquascaper

• APSA Member
    73%
    I've created a rough idea of how I'd like my system to be. I'd appreciate some input if anyone sees any major problems/concerns. Maybe something I've over looked.

Tank front and sides to be Starphire glass, 10mm thick, back and base just standard. Base 12mm.

The square tubing frame will take the weight and the 'cabinet' just for neatness and not so much structural. It's interesting to note that my adding the two diagonal braces I am able to halve the maximum stress induced and significantly reduce the maximum deflection too. Deflection on the stand is critical and more than likely the number one cause for failure of large tanks in my opinion. I'm not an expert on FEA (finite element analysis) but I think this basic check (with hand calcs) is plenty good enough :eyeroll: Factor is safety is around 6,6 if memory serves. With structural steel typically yielding at 350 MPa.

[​IMG]

Lid and cabinet opened
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Measurements of the tank
    [​IMG]

Max stress:
    [​IMG]

Max stress with two rear diagonal bracings out:
    [​IMG]

Max displacement:
    [​IMG]

Max displacement with two rear diagonal bracings out:
    [​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2014
  2. Joshua Tree

Joshua Tree Valued Contributor

• APSA Member
    23%
    Trust an engineer :laughing7:. Good to see you are making use of that fine education your parents spent money on ;D

3. Jay

Jay Noob

• APSA Member
    55%
    What programme did you use to find the stresses and deflections in the members?

Looks very good . I do still prefer open top planted tanks but each to their own. Are you planning to build the cabinet yourself?

4. JP01

JP01 Moderator Staff Member

• Global moderator
    73%
    Nice design! Would go open top with such a nice starfire glass tank.

5. Pierre07

Pierre07 Green fingers

• APSA Member
    37%