Help advise needed Digital timer keeps on resetting.

Discussion in 'D.I.Y.' started by Keke89, Jun 24, 2018.

  1. Keke89
    Offline

    Keke89 Green fingers

    • APSA Member
    9%
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Durbanville
    Hi all

    Invested in 2 digital timers for fishtank.
    One is for the lighting and the other one for the bubbler.

    These are MAJOR TECH MTD 9 Digital Programmable Timer,

    Anyway the one controlling the lights never an issue. BUT the one controlling the bubbler resets or loses time after about 4 days of running. Then I program it again, and it runs and then again resets after a couple of days. It actually resets to 2001 every time.

    I have actually returned it for a new one last week, and the same thing is happening.

    Why? Could it be that 2 timers cannot share 1 socket ? It it not getting enough power?

    Please see my current set up,
    I would love to know what is causing this. Solve the mystery and fix it.

    Thank you

    Below in order-of picture.

    1) lead plugged into socket.
    2) multi plug plugged into lead.
    - Top timer is the one that resets
    - Middle plug is always running because of pumps and heater
    - bottom timer is the light - have not had issues al all.
    3) close-up you can see that the top one has agin reset back to 2001.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. f-fish+plants
    Offline

    f-fish+plants Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    73%
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    JHB - West
    This is going to sound funny .. but turn the two pin plug around ... so rotate by 180 degrees ...

    I have seen some funny stuff happen with leaky live neutral wires. And if you have more than tow two pin's in the switch then try an eliminate it that way if it is that.

    Later Ferdie
     
    jakkalsbothma likes this.
  3. Paul
    Offline

    Paul Plant menace

    • APSA Member
    77%
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Capetown
    Major not the best on the market also had endless problems with them forked out a bit more and got myself some decent timers.
     
  4. Paul
    Offline

    Paul Plant menace

    • APSA Member
    77%
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Capetown
    these work great.

    6435550939255988.jpg
     
    jakkalsbothma likes this.
  5. Hendre
    Offline

    Hendre Plant menace

    • APSA Member
    77%
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    307
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Cape town
    Absolutely. Very useful and multipurpose
     
    Paul likes this.
  6. jakkalsbothma
    Offline

    jakkalsbothma Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    73%
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,423
    Likes Received:
    1,406
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Centurion
    is the 3x2 pin multi plug not touching the OK button???
     
  7. jakkalsbothma
    Offline

    jakkalsbothma Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    73%
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,423
    Likes Received:
    1,406
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Centurion
    sorry my bad... bottom one fine top one giving issues, (as jy kan lees dan kan jy presteer...)

    Ive used those MTD9 timers in the past with no problems so I doubt that its the timers...

    and what happens if you swop them round? put the top one at the bottom and the bottom one at the top? if the top one still gives you issues after the swop then you know there is something cooking with the multiplug...
    if the bottom one then gives you trouble and the top one is ok then it might be your "bubbler"
    (please tell us what your bubbler is... Air pump or CO2 regulator?)

    Two timers can share a socket no problem,
     

Share This Page