Brown Algae

Discussion in 'General Aquatic Talk' started by Trompie, Sep 9, 2015.

  1. Trompie
    Offline

    Trompie Green fingers

    • APSA Member
    9%
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Brakpan
    Hi Guys

    I started up my new tank on Saturday and yesterday I saw brown Algae forming everywhere. Looks like dust. even the water is not so clear as it should be.:(
    Now from what I understand this is quite common in new tanks and in time it should rectify itself but what confuses me is that on some aquarium sites people reckon brown algae does not like light so I need to increase the time my lights are switched on but other sites reckon I need to decrease the time the lights are on???:dontknow:

    I have no livestock in there at the moment as I am treating for snails.... just in case. Only plants.
    I am dosing excel and Flourish at the moment to get the plants going. Will add some livestock in 2 weeks.
    And some cobra grass!!!

    Another thing I saw yesterday which is worrying for me is that it seems like a thin film of dust or oil or algae is on the surface of the water. I attached a pic of it after I ran my fingers through it....
    I have ADA in the tank and have done 1 x waterchange monday night of approx 20%

    thanx
    Martin
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Trev Pleco
    Offline

    Trev Pleco Algae destroyer

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5,767
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Constantia, Cape Town
    totally normal with new tanks.. they are brown diatoms, they will disappear or you can quicken the process with ottos or ancistrus..

    You can get an eheim skimmer for surface skim if it bothers you and to maximise you lighting efficiency.

    tank is looking great by the way
     
  3. Trompie
    Offline

    Trompie Green fingers

    • APSA Member
    9%
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Brakpan
    Thanx Trev. So is that film on the surface also diatoms? or is it the ADA causing it?
     
  4. Trev Pleco
    Offline

    Trev Pleco Algae destroyer

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5,767
    Likes Received:
    1,760
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Constantia, Cape Town
    ADA also has dust of course at the start, perhaps you have a rare mixture of both :)

    Diatoms don't float on the surface from my experience, mainly on your glass and hardscape. ADA dust can rest anywhere including the surface.
     
  5. Deadpool
    Offline

    Deadpool Algae destroyer Staff Member

    • APSA Member
    • Sponsor
    73%
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3,983
    Likes Received:
    2,736
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    your momma's house (in Centurion)
    Skimmer will work...or just run an airpump at night...works as well ;)

    +1 on Otos...they love them some diatoms...
     
  6. jakkalsbothma
    Offline

    jakkalsbothma Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    73%
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    1,411
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Centurion
    Lyk baie mooi!
     
  7. Trompie
    Offline

    Trompie Green fingers

    • APSA Member
    9%
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Brakpan
    Dankie!!!

    Als moet nou net begin groei!!! als behalwe algae
     
  8. Joshua Tree
    Offline

    Joshua Tree Valued Contributor

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I've never used ADA but shouldn't you be doing much bigger daily wc's if you just started the tank?
     
    AdrianT likes this.
  9. Trompie
    Offline

    Trompie Green fingers

    • APSA Member
    9%
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Brakpan
    Pobably but getting home late this week every night is making it a bit difficult to remove and replacing 100 litre a night or second night. Will only add livestock when all is sorted and balanced
     
    Joshua Tree likes this.
  10. Linxie
    Offline

    Linxie Aquascaper

    • APSA Member
    23%
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    758
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
    I had the same issue, was only able to do large water changes over weekends. It took my 90l a month to cycle properly.
     

Share This Page