Breeding Bronze Cories (Corydoras Aeneus) my way

Discussion in 'Bottom Feeders' started by darryn, Apr 22, 2010.

1. darryn

darryn Algae harvester

• APSA Member
    53%
    The are some members who have asked me how I breed my cories, so I thought I would start a thread so that everyone can (possibly) benefit from my experiences.
    I must just stress that this is MY way, and I am sure that there are many just as good or better ways to do it. This is just the method that has worked for me.
    I have a 'breeding group' of cories consisting of about 3 females and four males. They are in a very lightly planted 3 foot tank. My substrate is pool filter sand.
    I have a heater set at about 25 degrees and for filtration I have an AquaClear 200 HOB filter.
    I primarily feed them on Tetra Tabimin and 2 twice a week I also feed live microworms. About once a month I also give them frozen bloodworm. I know, not much variety, but I am still learning.
    I perform 25% water changes once a week. The new water that I add is straight out of the tap and has been dechlorinated and been left to stand for about 10min. This water is normally a few degrees lower than the tank water, and I think this is one of the keys why my cories spawn so readily.
    I am lucky in the sense that I have never had to do anything specific to get them to spawn. They just started doing it spontaneously.
    Funnily enough, it is almost always on a Sunday morning. I normally do my water changes on either on a Saturday evening or Sunday morning.
    That same evening, I fill an ice cream tub with about 1L of water from the tank in which the eggs are. I then take a razor blade and carefully remove the eggs (which are normally deposited on the glass) and place them in the filled ice cream tub.