Algal Growth on Anubias Leaves

Discussion in 'Plant Problems' started by Pedro, Jun 4, 2007.

1. Pedro

Pedro Algae harvester

• APSA Member
    40%
    My anubias' leaves have recently started to become a haven for algal growth - check the pic below. I have about 5 of them in my setup - the giant variety - and even though they are all showing signs of new growth, the leaves have been gaining this algae.

[​IMG]

I perform regular water changes (lately 1/3 changed once a week almost religiously) and I have not changed the way that I have been feeding my Tanganyikans - in fact I feed them less now that I have a Tropheus moori "Bemba" (check it out here : http://www.apsa.co.za/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=3> which requires a higher vegetable based diet because of bloat.

[​IMG]

My lights (4 x flourescents) are only on from about 16h00pm or 17h00pm until about 22h00pm or 23h00pm.

What can I do to curb this growth? The rest of my tank has relatively minor algal growth...

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2014
  2. d3tained

d3tained Algae harvester

• APSA Member
    40%
    Hello Pedro.

That looks like Diatoms not actually a algae.

If you go read on the net you will be able to find allot of articals about it.Ive found that ottos works best at this tipe of "algae"

Normally it shows up in newly setup system withing the 1st few months and should go away buy itself...but as said...nice to speed it up buy adding ottos..Dont know if you can add them to a true chichlid tank.

3. Cameron

Cameron Green fingers

• APSA Member
    37%
    Hi Pedro