A Level question?

Discussion in 'General Aquatic Talk' started by AquaNewbie, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. AquaNewbie
    Offline

    AquaNewbie Noob

    • APSA Member
    80%
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @ Shihr - This is exactly what i had in mind after reading all the replies... Thanks!
     
  2. Rattail
    Offline

    Rattail Algae harvester

    • APSA Member
    40%
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Location:
    Cape Town
    or you could always build a concrete slab specially for the aquarium. do you live in a tree house? why such a serious slope? or was it simply just built by RPD contractors?
     
  3. Discus
    Offline

    Discus Algae harvester

    • APSA Member
    40%
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Location:
    Grahamstown, South Africa
    Rattail: it was built in the 1800s, and is old and wonky; someone told me it's one of the oldest in Grahamstown. The building even has some huge bolts through it in places to stop it falling apart slowly (I've commonly seen that on tall houses in London too). I rent, so doing things like putting in a concrete slab for a tank is right out! :) The floors are partly yellow wood and partly some kind of pine, seemingly at random.
    p.s. just went through your SE Asian thread, tank looks fantastic :)
     
  4. Rattail
    Offline

    Rattail Algae harvester

    • APSA Member
    40%
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks, James. :)

    I wish I had such an old house. Mine is a 1975 model.
    Anyway... (and this is the last from me) I would still not use spacers of any kind. Build a frame that is skew to compensate for the slant, use an edging to cover the top (visible) surface line of the water, or don't set upi an aquarium. That's my advice.

    or move. :)

    cheers!
    8)
     
  5. AquaNewbie
    Offline

    AquaNewbie Noob

    • APSA Member
    80%
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Update! So I finally got the tank and stand level.Next step add substrate and scape tank and add decor then plant with and added a bit of water. 4hrs later I start filling up tank half hour later while monitoring tank for water leaks I sit back and admire tank, then a couple hours later before I go to bed I check on tank and see that it sprung a leak!!
     
  6. wearsbunnyslippers
    Offline

    wearsbunnyslippers Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6,333
    Likes Received:
    1,122
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Johannesburg South
    sorry man, that is not cool...
     
  7. shihr
    Offline

    shihr Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Edenvale
    sheet.. is the tank old? or did u DIY it?
     
  8. AquaNewbie
    Offline

    AquaNewbie Noob

    • APSA Member
    80%
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nah not cool at all! The tank is abt 2 years old n I'm the 2nd owner.Worst thing is I tested for leaks a week ago n there was nothing!
     
  9. shihr
    Offline

    shihr Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Edenvale
    maybe the silicones old.. was it sittin empty in the sun? this could have made the silicone hard and brittle instead of soft and flexible..
     
  10. AquaNewbie
    Offline

    AquaNewbie Noob

    • APSA Member
    80%
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    nope, not in sun at all... Silicon very new. tank was setup for less than 1 year then previous owner went bigger!
    :mad:
     
  11. shihr
    Offline

    shihr Administrator Staff Member

    • Super Admin
    23%
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    1,786
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Edenvale
    dam.. well u gonna send it in for repairs or u going to do it yourself? im guessing its leaking through the silicon?
     
  12. AquaNewbie
    Offline

    AquaNewbie Noob

    • APSA Member
    80%
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can anyone reccomend a tank builder/repair person in Cape Town?
     
  13. silver fox
    Offline

    silver fox Algae harvester

    • APSA Member
    40%
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Location:
    Claremont Cape Town
    Hi Mahir
    i repair etc all my tanks if you want to drop it off i can do it, you just buy the silicone
     
  14. AquaNewbie
    Offline

    AquaNewbie Noob

    • APSA Member
    80%
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey thanks Rob,
    Did i mention that its a 700x700x700 corner tank?
     
  15. silver fox
    Offline

    silver fox Algae harvester

    • APSA Member
    40%
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Location:
    Claremont Cape Town
    Nooo but it shouldn't be a problem, we find the leak, cut away the old silicone and reseal. Most of my tanks are 2nd hand and that has happened to me a few times
     
  16. silver fox
    Offline

    silver fox Algae harvester

    • APSA Member
    40%
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Location:
    Claremont Cape Town
    I think because when we test there is no substrate etc or the filling and emptying causes the tank to flex and spring a leak, if its near the top we might not even have to take out your substrate
     

Share This Page